“Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home.”

Book by Emily Barr. Review from Goodreads

 

Image result for three out of five stars

 

All of the characters were very lovable, especially the supporting characters. It was very lighthearted and was a fun read, well sort of. The Memory of Flora Banks was very repetitive. Since Flora (like it says in the summary) looses her memory about three times per day, she was always forgetting things and it started getting to the point where it was almost annoying. Sometimes she would almost find what she was looking for and then forgets, goes through the memories all over again, and then has to plan it for… I don’t know how many times. (Seriously if I read “Drake kissed me on the beach” one more time I would have exploded and screamed at the book before I could even finish it.)

It started to get boring, and there were points in the book where Flora didn’t get anywhere. I get why, but it kind of made the book less entertaining and gave you more of a feeling like it would never finish. I felt like the characters were great, the story line was good, and it was well written. I was going to give it three and a half stars but it was so repetitive that I had to take the half off.

Don’t get me wrong, I actually really liked the book and I would recommend it. But if you are a very impatient person like me, I wouldn’t recommend it.  I would, however, not let your kids under 13 read this just because there is some sexual content in the book. Flora and Drake were sending emails back and forth to each other and Drake was being a little inappropriate with the words he was using. If you want to know more information and understanding of why the book is recommend for ages 13+ click here.

Will be writing another book review soon as I am rereading Divergent for you guys!! Be on the lookout for it, and I will see you soon my bookworms!

-Jordan

 

